A Blog Reflection

Good Morning Company Girls.  I still haven’t found made time following vacation for some real posting with real vacation pictures, so when Zoanna at A Penchant for Pens passed the 7 Post Blog Reflection torch to me I agreed to give it my best shot since I knew it would be easier than writing a blog from scratch this week.   It is a look back at your posts to see which ones fit these 7 categories.  I haven’t even been blogging a full year, don’t have a lot of posts to pick from, and don’t have a lot of followers but here goes…

Most Beautiful Post

My sister KG wrote this when she shared this post on Facebook:  “A wonderful tribute to the best father a girl could have. I do have to say I’m a little irked that my sister wrote it because there is no way I can top it for Father’s Day!”

Happy Father’s Day

Most Popular

Happy Feet

My top 5 ranking posts are the results I posted while participating in the Simple Mom 5 week Decluttering Challenge.  All of us who participated were reading each other’s decluttering results.  I still get clicks from those result pages.   I enjoyed participating in the challenge and the spirit of encouragement from the participants.

Project Simplify Week 1 – Master Bedroom Closet

Week 2 – Project Simplify – What Happened to a Paperless Society?

Project Simplify – Week 3 Results

Project Simplify – Week 4 Results

Project Simplify – Week 5 Musings

Most Controversial

Birthday Girl

I avoid controversy.  I suppose while I have few readers I should send out my most controversial stuff since few would be reading it, but really, if its that controversial I try to avoid it.    I want this blog to be an encouragement to you and there is enough controversy in our world for me to not add to it.

I chose this blog as my most controversial because I know in the world of food blogs some can get really cranky when discussing whether or not its okay to use cake mixes rather than from scratch.

Cake Pop Kid

There…is that controversial enough for you?

Most Helpful

The project of supplying shoes to the children of Nicaragua was the most humbling for those of us involved since we were able to help so many with such little effort on our part.   This post tied for second right below the Project Simplify posts.

K.I.S.S. Update

Success Surprised Me

Newsweek.com

Newsweek.com

I was surprised to see that this post from when I first started had as many hits as some of the more recent posts.  This is also the post I am most proud of as it still touches my heart every time I think of these men and those we pass by every day whose value is determined by the one who made them.

Just a Cup of Water

I am most proud of

I’m not so much as proud of this post as I am my daughter.  Who wouldn’t be?  This post of her singing “Here I am to Worship” tied for second with the K.I.S.S. Update behind the Project Simplify series.

More Than Talent, Its a Gift

Most Ignored

Well, I’ve got plenty of those so I decided to change this category to…

Blogs waiting to be written

What I was the most surprised about when looking at my posts were the ones still in draft.   Some had been partially written, some were just titles waiting to be written.   Some day you may read:

  • When Flesh and Spirit Collide
  • Goodbye 4th Grade (better get this written before 5th grade starts)
  • Some Done is Better than None
  • The Journey isn’t the Purpose

Thanks for stopping by.  Here is a link back to the Company Girls Coffee!

Have a great weekend!  I pray you are laughing at the days to come.
“25 She is clothed with strength and dignity;
she can laugh at the days to come.
26 She speaks with wisdom,
and faithful instruction is on her tongue.
27 She watches over the affairs of her household
and does not eat the bread of idleness.
28 Her children arise and call her blessed;
her husband also, and he praises her:
29 “Many women do noble things,
but you surpass them all.”
30 Charm is deceptive, and beauty is fleeting;
but a woman who fears the LORD is to be praised.
31 Honor her for all that her hands have done,
and let her works bring her praise at the city gate.(Proverbs 31: 25-31, New International Version)

This entry was posted in Encouragement, Fun and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to A Blog Reflection

  1. What a fun snapshot of who you are and how fun to get to know you! Great job!

  2. Bec says:

    Controversial cake mix. Now that’s funny 🙂

  3. diane says:

    Eh, posting goes in streaks for me, too. Love the Father’s Day post, and the decluttering series is very helpful. Is your blog title from the passage in Isaiah that says “when you pass through the waters, I will be with you…”? Such a sustaining thought. I simply cannot walk this live without Him.

    • Kelly C says:

      Diane, Oddly enough I never thought to do a search for a verse with those exact words, but you can bet I will be posting that verse somewhere now. Thanks for that info. It is closely related to that concept for all the times in the Bible from beginning to end things were born or reborn through the water . How I came to name my blog such is also one of those unfinished posts.

      • Diane says:

        It’s Isaiah 43:2, though, the quote is “when you pass through the waters…” then later on “walk through the flames…”. So much for my BIble memory program! Looking forward to the finishing of that post!

  4. zoanna says:

    Good job! I’m so glad that you said yes to my invitation to do this blog retrospection. I agree–doing it yearly would be a good exercise. I reread all of those posts (read them all the first time you posted, even if I didn’t comment. I try to leave commentx because I know how much I like to receive them).
    Gotta say your Cake Pop Kid post is VERY timely and how funny that you would call the cake mix thing controversial, but oh, isn’t it though? People get cranky about the littlest things. I say timely because I have a cake out of the oven right now but it doesn’t look so great. It’s to send up to my son at camp (counselor) for his b’day. I was thinking how could make it look better cuz it’s really bumpy, saggy, bleh looking. So maybe I’ll just this brand new-to-me- idea of Cake Pops. I think I’ll stick purple plastic spoon in them since I have them and he’s a Ravens fan.

    • Kelly C says:

      Good luck with the cake pops. I made a new cake recipe last weekend that isn’t disappearing very fast (interpret-didn’t turn out so well and nobody likes it) so I was thinking of mashing up, icing and all, mixing with some fresh frosting and making cake balls. By the way, it is nice to get comments and I like to leave them also, but your posts always make me want to tell you a long story and have a face to face conversation so I hold back on the comments not knowing how to just say a little.

  5. Second blog I’ve been on in the Company Girl rounds that talks about decluttering. May be I need to take the hint and work on some piles that have been stacking up–especially in the living room. I hope you have a great weekend!

    • Kelly C says:

      Shawna, I’m sad to say some of these spots don’t even look like I touched them in the spring. It is a never ending battle. Good luck with yours.

  6. joyceandnorm says:

    What a neat way to reflect on your blog. I like your controversial one. haha I don’t like controversy either. Why do people have to make an issue out of every little thing? Enjoyed my stop over here. Have a wonderful weekend.

  7. Katharine says:

    What a great way to look at your blog! My life verses are from the Isaih ones that dianne quoted. Funny isn’t it, that I just assumed that is where your blog title came from! 🙂 Hope your weekend is wonderful!

  8. zoanna says:

    Kelly, please don’t hold bsck. I love long comments. And i would like face to face talk with you too. Whenppl don’t leave a comment my temptation is to think what i wrote was dumb or worthless and don’t want others to feel that …especially on a serious topic. So coments of any length are reassuring.

Leave a comment