The Jar Project

Table decorations and teachers gifts from jars and Epsom salts.

We have been saving jars all semester.

We started with this initial idea from Mark Montano on Tip Junkie to make tea lights.

Then we also found this idea from Cleverly Inspired through Pinterest to use Epsom salts.  I was concerned about the durability of the salts and got some advice from Amber at Not Even Martha about the top coat.

I did about 30 jars with the yarn and flat white paint.   They looked nice but were taking forever to tape up with the yarn.  It kept sliding off.  So we decided to try the salts and thought they looked so nice we did the rest with that method and changed it up a bit with the red paint.

The flat paint didn’t look as exciting after we started using the salts so we added glitter to the yarn tied jars.

The red sticks came from a nearby field and are sprayed with red spray paint, spray adhesive, and glittered.

We used several variations of adhesive and top coat.  What we decided worked best for us was this:

  • 1 coat of spray paint, flat or gloss both worked fine (let dry)
  • sponge on the Modge Podge
  • roll in the salts (let dry)
  • spray with a heavy coat of clear spray paint which worked better than the more expensive acrylic sealers

Now I have glitter everywhere in my house and car.

Thank you to my faithful friends who collected jars, washed jars, modge podged jars, cut ribbon, and kept me sane.  We ended up with 101 jars and then…

I got to work after setting up this morning and discovered I left 2 boxes of jars (16 jars total) in my car and had forgotten to take them into the school.  Oh well.  Worse things could happen.

Have a great weekend and if I don’t see you before then…Merry Christmas!!!

And Mary said:

“My soul glorifies the Lord
and my spirit rejoices in God my Savior,
for he has been mindful
of the humble state of his servant.
From now on all generations will call me blessed,
for the Mighty One has done great things for me—
holy is his name.
His mercy extends to those who fear him,
from generation to generation.
He has performed mighty deeds with his arm;
he has scattered those who are proud in their inmost thoughts.
He has brought down rulers from their thrones
but has lifted up the humble.
He has filled the hungry with good things
but has sent the rich away empty.
He has helped his servant Israel,
remembering to be merciful
to Abraham and his descendants forever,
just as he promised our ancestors.”  Luke 1:46-50

Linking up with Company Girls

This entry was posted in Crafts. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Jar Project

  1. Star says:

    Looks great! Very creative and pretty! Hope the event was a success. Merry Christmas!

  2. joyceandnorm says:

    Don’t you love Pinterest?! I would so not be a crafter if I couldn’t “borrow” ideas from others. =p The jars turned out great!

  3. The jars turned out so cute. Pinned this project to my Pinterest board!

  4. zoanna says:

    These look great! I might attempt them but I hate to work w/ glitter.

    I have tagged you in my post today. Play if you want to.

Leave a comment