Week 2 – Project Simplify- What happened to a paperless society?

Happy Feet

This week’s Project Simplify Challenge wasn’t as difficult to do as I thought, but I don’t have the warm fuzzy feeling I had after cleaning out the closet last week.  I’m still not completely sure why.   Perhaps it is because I had paper in so many places that even though I removed the paper from those places and put it where it belongs I can’t see the finished results as easily as with the closet.  Perhaps it is because although those places are now de-papered, many of them are still not de-cluttered so I don’t feel like I finished.  Or maybe its just because I got a cold in the middle of the week and don’t feel all that great anyway.

Whatever the reason, I did make progress and want to share that with you.

I embraced the challenge and tried my best to find all the places in my house and beyond that I had left, stored, dropped, stashed, or piled paper.   Everywhere I looked there was a stash of paper.  At least 15 different places including the car.  I had tons of receipts.  I guess I kept those until the bank statements came in just in case there were discrepancies or in case I needed to return something and never went back and threw them out.

I sorted through all of it and one large box was trash.  A small batch came to work with me for shredding.   What was left has been reduced down to 2 file folder baskets for temporary storage until scanned or moved to the permanent garage file cabinet.  This cabinet only has things in it you are really supposed to keep.  I set up this system based on the book Smart Women Finish Rich by David Bach.

It was easy enough to take before pictures.  Everywhere I looked there was paper.  The after shots are more difficult.  A couple of file folders and some empty boxes.  Boring.  I thought you might enjoy the artwork and hope they make you smile as much as I do when I see them.

My new system :

  • All our bills are already paperless except a few that haven’t allowed for this option
  • Got the rest of our investment statements set up for paperless
  • Signed up for the Do not Mail list.  I sure hope that works.
  • Have one box I’ll put paper into that isn’t automatically thrown into the shred box.
  • Will sort out this box once a week
  • Will have one file for items to be scanned and scan these items once a month.  I’m very excited about this as I can usually find things I’ve stored on a computer much easier than things I’ve stored in a hanging folder.
  • Put reminders on my Cozi Calendar to do these weekly and monthly activities

What tips do you have for handling paper in your house?

If you want to see how the others did on this project go here.

If you want to see how I did on my first week of Project Simplify go here.  I am still enjoying the results of this effort.

What is your house filled with?

3 By wisdom a house is built,
and through understanding it is established;
4 through knowledge its rooms are filled
with rare and beautiful treasures.  Proverbs 24:3-4 NIV

This entry was posted in Household and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Week 2 – Project Simplify- What happened to a paperless society?

  1. wholesomewomanhood says:

    I was surprised at how many places paper was lurking in my home. I wouldn’t have thought I needed to organize my paper clutter, but I’m glad that was this week’s challenge. Our desk looks so much better!

    • Kelly C says:

      I agree. It was actually embarrassing all the paper stacks I found. The crazy thing for me is my desk has so many other things on it that I would never leave important papers on it too. Therefore the important papers had no home.

  2. Ang says:

    Love the “will draw fruits, but won’t eat them”. thanks for the do not mail link, i hope it works too!

  3. Pingback: Project Simplify – Week 5 Musings | Through the Water

  4. Pingback: April 15, 2011 | Through the Water

  5. Pingback: A Blog Reflection | Through the Water

Leave a Reply

