Project Simplify – Week 3 – Results

The challenge for Week 3 of the Project Simplify is a to tackle toys and/or kids’ clothes.   There were 2 main reasons I chose not to work on this challenge as written:  1)  Due to the time of year it is, I’m only home for a short time before k goes to bed these nights and I don’t want us to spend our only time together cleaning out her closet.   2)  We did this project pretty much as written in December right after Christmas so there aren’t too many extra items.  The closet does need to be relieved of things that aren’t k’s but now is not the time.  This is a Saturday project and I won’t have a free one until after April 18th.

You can go here to see all the other posted results for this challenge.  There are always some amazing ideas from these other challenge winners.

This week my original intention was to tackle a different small hot spot every night.  These are areas that probably won’t make it to a full week challenge by Tsh at Simple Mom.   I managed to get 2 of these places done.  The others nights I could give all kinds of reasons, but the fact was I just chose not to give the effort on 2 nights.

Its amazing what motivation just having a challenge and a time frame  from Tsh for Project Simplify to do a certain area has done for me the other two weeks.  By having a specific thing to accomplish before Friday’s each morning I made sure I did something each night.  This week I let it slide.

Here is what I did accomplish in about 30 minutes.

1)  Top of chest in bedroom.

This wasn’t too bad.  I put everything in one laundry basket.  Took it to the living room and sorted it out while watching tv of course.   I also found 2 separate boxes of unmatched socks and matched enough to leave only one small shoe box of unmatched socks.

I found 4 pair of glasses that I had previously accumulated to deliver to donate to my eye doctor.  He goes on missions and matches these to people that need them.    Some of them are so old I would never even wear the frames again if needed, but mostly I will probably never need these since I had my eye surgeries a couple of years ago.   It is time to bless someone else.

Boycat (yes, that is his name) enjoying the empty surface.  I still need to hang my cross stitch of Proverbs 31.  The bar you hang it on pulled out and I need to fix it.

2)  Bedside table and adjoining floor

Beside bedside table

Remember this area of paper clutter from last week? It had non-paper issues that needed to be addressed as well.

This floor and the chest I use as a bedside table was a magnet for papers, books, cds, socks, etc., etc., etc…

Anyway, it wasn’t a difficult place to clear out, it just needed some focused attention.

A little effort did go a long way.

It was also the lack of a little effort that let it get the way it was.  It was only “a little folding of the hands” that allowed my house to be filled with clutter.   It didn’t get the way it was over night.  It won’t get cleared out over night but this is a start.

I’m trying not to be this person any more:

30 I went past the field of a sluggard,
past the vineyard of someone who has no sense;
31 thorns had come up everywhere,
the ground was covered with weeds,
and the stone wall was in ruins.
32 I applied my heart to what I observed
and learned a lesson from what I saw:
33 A little sleep, a little slumber,
a little folding of the hands to rest—
34 and poverty will come on you like a thief
and scarcity like an armed man.

Proverbs 24:30-34 NASB

This entry was posted in Household and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Project Simplify – Week 3 – Results

  1. mrsfrisbie says:

    Nice work! Cute kitty, beautiful dresser, and an inspiring Proverb. Thank you for lifting my spirits today. Good luck next week.

  2. Great going, sometimes it is important to just spend 30 minutes and get that one spot done. It makes such a difference.

  3. Rooh says:

    It can be the little things that bring us more joy and/or comfort. Seeing a clean and tidy surface can be so soothing sometimes! I strive to do the same, and have a chance to start with a new way in this new house – trying to avoid the pileups in the first place! One mini-counter in the kitchen is messy, and that will be the one that is our “dumping” area, I think. It’s on it’s own, it’s small, and therefore contained, LOL!

    Thank you for your kind comments on my blog – the coming of spring should help the transition from our beloved home to this new one 🙂

    Enjoy your Sunday, and have a great week!

  4. Star says:

    Wow, great job! Both areas look fantastic! Isn’t it calming to have a neat surface like that…I need to get inspired and do some de-cluttering myself!

  5. Pingback: April 15, 2011 | Through the Water

  6. Pingback: A Blog Reflection | Through the Water

Leave a Reply

