Mint Chocolate Chip Lego Cake

Hello Company Girls!  Good to catch up with everyone.  I caught up my own blogging with a catch up post of Fall Fun earlier this week.

Then Wednesday night I made Cupcakes in a Cup for k’s 11th birthday.

Mint Chocolate Cupcakes

Last light I stayed up until 2:30 finishing her Lego cake.  Yikes.  I didn’t plan it that way.  Originally, I was going to make the cake on Wednesday and frost on Thursday, but it just didn’t happen.  So I baked and went to bed at 10:30 thinking I would frost tonight after supper, but after laying in the bed for 2 hours and still being wide awake I got up to finish the cake.  I’m glad I did.  These things always take longer than you think and I’m sure k and her friends aren’t going to want to wait around too long for cake and ice cream tonight.

Although I know its not Martha S. quality, its k quality.  She asked for a Lego cake and I delivered after looking all over the web for ideas.   I fell in love with this Mint Chocolate Chip Cake from Steph at Raspberri Cupcakes.  I used this pattern from Betty Crocker and their idea to use marshmallows as the knobs.

I was glad k was happy with one color of frosting.  I’m not sure I would have wanted to eat a cake that was bright red, blue, and yellow.  All the reviews and instructions I found about Lego cakes said how hard it was to get those little knobs frosted, so I did the best I could and didn’t worry too much if it was perfect.  The fact that the frosting had chocolate pieces in it didn’t help on the knobs, but it helped me not worry too much about it because I knew I couldn’t get it perfectly smooth.

One smart thing I did was to frost the initial crumb coat of all the cake parts before I added the chocolate, so I had a smooth surface to put the next coat.  After the crumb coat, I stuck it all in the fridge to stiffen up before applying the next coat.

I still might fill in some more buttercream at the seams, but then again, I probably won’t.

All in all I think it turned out great.  I can’t wait to have some tonight.  The icing has just a touch of mint, not too much to make you ill, but enough to go with the chocolate cake.  k said her classmates said I was the best cook ever when they had the mint chocolate cupcakes yesterday.   So there you have it.  I’m the best cook ever.  Take that Martha.

I feel like I did a good job of not being idle this week.  How about you?

“She watches over the affairs of her household
and does not eat the bread of idleness.
Her children arise and call her blessed…”  Proverbs 31: 27-28

Link Back to Company Girls

This entry was posted in Family, Recipes/Food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Mint Chocolate Chip Lego Cake

  1. The cake looks yummy! The cupcakes are cute!

  2. Katharine says:

    Yum that looks good! I couldn’t find an e-mail address, so I’m letting you know about the pumpkin bread here! The recipe makes 1 regular size loaf, I doubled it and made one regular sized loaf and 3 mini loaves in th mini loaf pans I have.(it’s a great gift size)

  3. Kelly C says:

    It looks a little clunky, but it was really good. We are still eating on it. I do think the mint flavor gets stronger as it waits to be eaten. Do you think that is real or is it my imagination?

  4. joyceandnorm says:

    You know, I’m not sure if I’ve ever made a cake before. =p Maybe just the boxed cakes with frosting on time. Love the cupcakes too!

Leave a comment