Looking Forward

We found out Friday afternoon we weren’t selected for the houseparent position.  Yes, we are disappointed, but not devastated.  I think several things helped reduce the devastation factor for me:

  • Prayers by us and on our behalf that God’s will be done
  • The lovely things people have said to encourage us and express their opinion that we were competent for the job
  • The time that had lapsed from when we interviewed to when we heard
  • Thinking through the possibility of rejection ahead of time
  • Not being in a position where we desperately needed a job.  We both have good jobs that appear to be stable.
  • This is not the worst news a person could receive.  People all around me are getting devastating news of losing loved ones, incurable disease, divorce, and other tragedies.  Our hearts go out to those who are truly in the valleys of life right now.
  • Looking forward to what might lie ahead.  I know God’s way is always the perfect way.
  • Being busy with life already and not sitting around waiting for something to happen
  • Having a wonderful husband to share the journey.  We went through this together.  I know all of my emotions that I have shared are not his, but he was equally, if not more, disappointed.

Many have shared their stories of times in their lives they thought their path would go one way and God sent it another.  I’ve heard stories of the passion people have for various ministries and the love they have for others in need and have been encouraged by their submission to God’s call.  I’ve received suggestions for other directions we could go including other homes, adoption, and foster care.

Honestly, some of these ideas scare me more right now in my life than being a houseparent to 8 kids.  Its all in the perspective isn’t it?

We truly want to be more than pew packers and I know that is why we decided we would see where God took this path.  While being involved in the local church and its activities is definitely a good thing and greatly needed, the things I’m involved with personally take very little faith for me to do.  I do the things I think/know I can do a good job at.

I’m looking for one of those experiences where I tell God like Moses or Gideon I’m not the one, only to find out when I submit to Him, that He is the One and will do great things if I allow Him to.   It seems like these experiences only happen to a few, but is it because only a few are listening, watching, ready?  Or is it that most of our lives we are following Paul’s advice “to make it your ambition to lead a quiet life: You should mind your own business and work with your hands, just as we told you,  so that your daily life may win the respect of outsiders and so that you will not be dependent on anybody.”  I Thes 4:11-12 NIV   In fact most of the faithful mentioned in the Bible still lived normal every day lives, day in and day out until that one significant event happened we read about in the Bible.

I don’t really know.

In the mean time, we will watch and pray and look for guidance from the Almighty and continue to do the work He has already given to us.

Thank you to all for your encouragement through this process.

 “Not that I have already obtained all this, or have already arrived at my goal, but I press on to take hold of that for which Christ Jesus took hold of me.  Brothers and sisters, I do not consider myself yet to have taken hold of it. But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead,  I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.” Philippians 3:12-14

Here are previous posts on this journey:

Have a great weekend!

Here is the Company Girls link.

This entry was posted in Encouragement, Faith, Family and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Looking Forward

  1. Hang in there! I look forward to reading the previous posts in your journey!

  2. diane says:

    It seems as if God wants us to keep putting one foot in front of the other, walking on and being sensitive to open or closed doors. Honestly, both the church I attend and the condo I just bought are exactly what *I* had decided I *didn’t* want…but I checked each out just because of a feeling – and God has shown very plainly that these places are where He wants me!

    I’ll continue praying for your walk and ministry opportunities; I am confident God is preparing exactly the right place for you, and it will be ready in exactly His time.

    • Kelly C says:

      I didn’t know that about your recent move. It goes back to the thought of God providing a lamp to our feet. The lamp only shows the next step doesn’t it? Thanks for stopping by.

  3. joyceandnorm says:

    He has a plan that is greater than our own. He will lead you to what He has prepared just for you. And I know what you mean about having things put into perspective. I hate when I complain because really, we are so blessed with a nice home and good health…. Hope you will have a nice weekend without think too much on waiting for the news any longer.

    • Kelly C says:

      The plan…we try so hard to figure it out don’t we? Most of the time we aren’t anywhere close to it in the end. It was nice to not have that hanging over us this past weekend.

  4. Michelle says:

    Looking forward to seeing where God takes you.

  5. Carolyn Salvesen says:

    Thanks for writing from the heart. I am excited to see where God is going to lead. What a joy for Him to have such a ready, faithful couple prepared to serve Him. I love God’s adventures as they are always way more exciting that anything we could ever imagine.

  6. Michele Bird says:

    Kelly,

    We went through this same process about 5 years ago. We interviewed with Christ Haven and were told no but I knew that God had a different plan and I was satisfied with no so I got on the internet and researched other children’s homes and God let us to Foster’s Home for Children, just a few months later, we were moving to Stephenville, TX. We were houseparents for 3 years and were blessed to have served in this way and will forever be changed!! (in a good-great way)

    We will pray that God will keep the doors open for you! Let us know if we can help you in any way to get in touch with Foster’s home!!

    Michele

  7. Michele Bird says:

    lol Maybe I should have used spell check lol I was not satisfied with No and God lead us not let-

    Blessings,

    Michele

  8. Alisha says:

    Kelly, I have had doors open and close on this path. God always knows better than we do where we can be used. You were wise to truly leave it in His hands. The times I have followed my own will and not His have ended in unhappiness, so I am finally learning to let Him truly lead. We can always pray for what we want (“May this cup pass from me”) but in the end we need to follow Him (“Thy will be done.”) to glorify Him. God bless you both for being open to the opportunity when many would have run the other way!

  9. Pingback: He Told Us To Go | Through the Water

Leave a Reply

