I Lift My Hands

We sang “I Lift My Hands” by Michael Armstrong in worship service this Sunday.

I Lift My Hands by Michael Armstrong

 I lift my hands. I lift my heart. I lift my voice, To You Lord.

 I close my eyes. I see Your face. I’m still and know, You are the Way.

 I lift my hands. I lift my heart. I lift my voice, To You Lord.

It is very simple and beautiful in content and music.

I don’t know what your take is on the lifting of hands in worship.

I attended some places where it was not to be done.

Others where people freely lifted hands during prayer and praise to God Jehovah.

I grew up in a small town where it was a non-issue.  It was never really discussed.  Nobody did it.  So I didn’t even know there were places where it was an issue until I moved to the big city.

This post is not about that.  It is about the lifting of hands.

We find David praising God while in the wilderness:

Because Your lovingkindness is better than life,
My lips will praise You.
So I will bless You as long as I live;
I will lift up my hands in Your name.”  Psalms 63:3-4

I see this as lifting up hands pointing to God to direct attention to Him.

David cries out in desperation to God for help:

To You, O LORD, I call;
My rock, do not be deaf to me,
For if You are silent to me,
I will become like those who go down to the pit.
Hear the voice of my supplications when I cry to You for help,
When I lift up my hands toward Your holy sanctuary.
Do not drag me away with the wicked
And with those who work iniquity,
Who speak peace with their neighbors,
While evil is in their hearts.”  Psalm 28: 1-3

I see this as opening up the hands to God to receive from Him.

Ahimaaz called and said to the king, ‘All is well.’ And he prostrated himself before the king with his face to the ground. And he said, ‘Blessed is the LORD your God, who has delivered up the men who lifted their hands against my lord the king.’”  2 Samuel 18:27-29

In this example the hands were used to bring harm against another.

Have you ever heard the phrase, “He wouldn’t lift a hand”  or “She didn’t lift a finger…?   What thoughts and emotions does the use of this phrase bring to your mind.  Any past uses of this phrase?  Most likely it didn’t bring you good, warm, fuzzy feelings.

“Jesus stretched out His hand and touched him…”  Matthew 8:3

He healed.

“Immediately Jesus stretched out His hand and took hold of him…” Matthew 14:31

He rescued.

“Reach here with your finger, and see My hands; and reach here your hand and put it into My side; and do not be unbelieving, but believing.”   John 20:24-26

He died.

It struck me as we were singing that perhaps lifting hands is more than what we do inside the building of worship in an act of praise.

Perhaps it is the lifting of hands in an act of service to our fellow man for our Lord and Savior who showed us how.

Not to take this out of context in any way, but reread this verse with a different mind set.

“So I will bless You as long as I live; I will lift up my hands in Your name.”  Psalms 63:3-4

Hello Company Girls.  Have a great weekend. Link back to the coffee.

If you caught last weeks post, One Prayer, we decided to submit an application to be house parents to a children’s home.   We got that submitted Wednesday so now we wait.  Please continue to pray we allow God to lead us down this road if it is the road He wants our family to be on and we have patience and contentment in His answer and timing.

This entry was posted in Encouragement, Service and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to I Lift My Hands

  1. Diane says:

    It is so incredible when you can actually see God leading you. Whether He takes you all the way through to being house parents, or He is using this to test whether or not you are willing to respond to His leading even in things that are out of your comfort zone, He will bless your obedience. I’ll be praying for you.

  2. Don’t you just love seeing God at work. I love looking back at seemingly insignificant things and realizing that God’s hand had orchestrated it all! God’s riches blessings to you and your family as you pray and wait and question and wonder if this is God’s will for you.

    • Kelly C says:

      Stacy, I agree, in those times God gives us a glimpse into how things all fit together it truly is amazing. Thank you for your prayers as it is now in God’s hands and we wait.

  3. Katharine says:

    Praying that all things will work together for His good… What a wonderful step for you! Blessings on your week!

  4. Thank you for this blessed reminder – I lift my hands in worship, adoration, and praise… welcoming His guidance and will in my life! Stopping by from Company Girls Coffee…

  5. Star says:

    How different this country would look if all those that profess to be christians would “lift their hands”. Thanks for the words! Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

