Its all about the clothes

My little k is as active as the next kid.    She likes to ride her scooter.  She rides her bike.  She has been practicing dribbling a basketball.  She likes to wrestle with her daddy (what kid doesn’t).  She runs laps and exercises during the Biggest Loser while I just sit on the couch and eat dessert.

But, she is not competitive.  When she was younger we tried soccer and she liked the practice drills, but didn’t understand the game competitiveness.  Why was there only one ball?  One game in particular she was very disinterested.  While the others were running right past her from end to end.  She was carefully walking, tracing, the circle in the middle of the field heel, toe, heel, toe.  Then later in the game I couldn’t figure out why she wasn’t with the others on the field and she had decided right in the middle of game action time to step off the field and play with a puppy.

So I was a bit surprised when a month ago she started expressing stress and concern over the 4th grade field day.  I mean, this is supposed to be a fun day, not a stresser.

It started with a simple question, “Mom, will you still give me a reward for field day if I don’t get a blue ribbon?”    Of course I told her how much we loved her no matter what place she came in and encouraged her to do her best.   When I questioned her to find out what was behind this question I found out how worried she was about it.  She said she was the worst runner.  I asked if she came in last place.  “No…in the middle.”    “Then you aren’t the worst.”

Apparently they were practicing for this day during their regular P.E. class.  They had been assigned to various individual events and would participate in those events.  She was going to run, do target toss, and buddy walk.  Buddy walk was a major stresser since both students have to coordinate together.  Apparently, k and her buddy weren’t doing a very good job of coordinating.   She even asked me if I would write a note to her buddy to ask her to not yell at k on the day of the field day.  Oops, I forgot and oddly enough she didn’t remind me.  She usually remembers things like that.

During the course of the month k complained about her foot hurting several times thinking it would get her out of P.E. practice and the field day.  We bought new  P.E. shoes.  We had numerous discussions about this being a fun day.  But all to no avail.

One day we got to school and I realized she had a hole in her sweat pants.  We ran home to change clothes quickly and all we could find were shorts.  She said, “I didn’t know I could wear shorts to school.”  Now I have no idea why she thought that, but she was giddy on the way back about wearing shorts.

She came home that day so excited because she could run faster in shorts.    Aahhh!  A turning point.

The field day was Monday.  It rained all day.  She was still so worried about everything being perfect she put sunscreen all over her because they had been told to.  She wouldn’t wear sweats even though it was very cold because “they told us to wear shorts.”  I told her they thought it was going to be hot today when they told you that and made her wear sweats anyway.  She was glad later.

She was elated when they canceled the meet (oops, she constantly corrects me that its “field day.”

They rescheduled it for Wednesday.  Not too excited about that.

However, on Wednesday, she didn’t seem as concerned about it as she was on Monday.

She got all sunscreened up and was able to wear shorts.

I got the call after school every mom dreams of.

Mom, I won a blue ribbon.

1st Place

photo by Kara

Wow, that’s awesome.  Tell me about it.

I’m thinking this is incredible, how could this have possibly happened?…as tears filled my eyes.

Apparently they broke them into small groups to run.  She won the 90 yard dash against 2 other people.   It was funny that later she asked her dad, “How far is 90 yards?”

I don’t care if it was just one other person.  She was so excited and proud of that ribbon.  She took it to church to show everyone last night.

She won another ribbon for 3rd place I think in the buddy walk.

She said it was all because she could wear shorts now.

Apparently, the sweats were a big hindrance to being speedy.

What is hindering you that you need to put off?

1 Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles. And let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us, 2 fixing our eyes on Jesus, the pioneer and perfecter of faith. For the joy set before him he endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God. 3 Consider him who endured such opposition from sinners, so that you will not grow weary and lose heart. (Hebrews 12:1-3, New International Version, ©2011)

Hi Company Girls!

Have a Happy Mother’s Day!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Its all about the clothes

  1. Star says:

    Aw, so glad she had a good experience…those pesky sweats!

    She looks very happy! Have a great Mother’s Day!

Leave a Reply

