Hello Company Girls

I want to say “Hi” to the Friday Company Girls coffee. I have only recently started joining the Company Girls Coffee and I have enjoyed reading your posts and sharing feedback and comments.

In only a few weeks I can tell this is a group of women of faith that encourage and lift each other up.  That is why this morning I want to specifically share with you my father has recently been diagnosed with cancer of his kidney. Three pathologists where the biopsy was taken had difficulty with a diagnosis and concluded that although they suspected cancer that the results were inconclusive. They sent the slides to another pathologist who said there is cancer. My dad requested a third opinion that hasn’t come back yet.

My father had a torn aorta in November. The doctors were amazed they even caught it. They said most people don’t make it as far as the hospital when they have one. So we were blessed for him to make it through that and he was healing and getting his strength back. However, in the process of all the testing for the heart they discovered this issue with the kidney and waited until he was stronger to do the biopsy.

Many of my friends have lost parents in the last year. Some of them much younger than my father. It has only driven home to me that my parents are getting older and won’t be around forever.

This is a very busy time of year for me in that I do taxes for a living.  So you can imagine what my schedule is like right now. This busy-ness has helped to keep my mind distracted somewhat, but its always in the back of my mind as we wait for results and decisions to be made.

Thanks for letting me share that with you.  I appreciate your prayers.

Christmas 2010

13 It is written: “I believed; therefore I have spoken.” Since we have that same spirit of faith, we also believe and therefore speak, 14 because we know that the one who raised the Lord Jesus from the dead will also raise us with Jesus and present us with you to himself. 15 All this is for your benefit, so that the grace that is reaching more and more people may cause thanksgiving to overflow to the glory of God.

16 Therefore we do not lose heart. Though outwardly we are wasting away, yet inwardly we are being renewed day by day. 17 For our light and momentary troubles are achieving for us an eternal glory that far outweighs them all. 18 So we fix our eyes not on what is seen, but on what is unseen, since what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal. (2 Corinthians 4:13-18, New International Version, ©2011)

Company Girls! Can any of you tell me how to get the blog hop. I keep pasting the script into my HTML screen and it keeps disappearing?

This entry was posted in Encouragement, Family and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Hello Company Girls

  1. Katharine says:

    It is difficult when parents are ill! i will be praying that you will know comfort and peace while you wait for results…
    Blessings!

  2. Star says:

    I am so sorry about your father. I know this must be a very tough time for your family. I have lifted you up in prayer today and hope that you will find comfort. Leaving you one of my favorite verses of comfort, Psalm 94:19
    “In the multitude of thoughts within me, His comfort delights my soul.”

  3. joyceandnorm says:

    Welcome to Coffee!

    Thank you for sharing about your dad and the passage with us. A friend of mine who is only 31 years old (his wife and I have been friends for 22 years, and they just had a baby 6 months ago) was diagnosed with an inoperable brain tumor. He has a biopsy on Monday. Another reminder of how precious the life that He has given to us. I’m glad that your father was healed from the torn aorta. Praying that He will be glorified no matter what happens.

    About the script…like most plug-in, widgets, etc. it doesn’t work with WordPress. Rachel would have to post another HTML code that is a more general one that has a pop-up screen with the link ups.

    • Kelly C says:

      Joyce – Thank you for the kind words and the information about the HTML code. I guess it took another wordpress gal to know the answer to that.
      Thanks again.

  4. Becky B says:

    I will be praying for your father and for YOU during this time. Glad you are part of the Coffee Girls!! Please keep us posted on how your father is doing (and you how are doing too!!) Hang in there crunching all those numbers….God bless you for that fact alone! lol

  5. LydiaCate says:

    I’m so sorry about your dad. Thank you for sharing with us. It is a privilege to pray for you, your family and your dad. I know the Lord will give you the energy and strength to get through all you have on your plate. I pray for sweet moments together with your dad creating memories that will last a lifetime.
    Love the picture of your dad with the kids. Precious!
    Blessings to you!

  6. jennibell says:

    Lifting you and your family up today. Having an ill family member is tremendously difficult and stressful. Keeping HIS Word before you will give you strength for sure. Please allow others to comfort you, help you and “do” for you during this uncertain time. Many times it’s hard to let go and allow others to help so thank you for being transparent here and sharing your prayer request. I look forward to getting to know you better through our Coffee chats on Fridays!
    Blessings to you.

  7. thinking about you and your family. it’s so hard to not be able to make a plan to fix things, but i know you’ll find the right path in all of this.

  8. I am so sorry about your dad and hope the news will bring hope to all of you.
    My biggest fear, living in another country than my parents is that something is going to happen to them. My dads health is pretty good, but my moms is not. I am so glad I am moving home to Norway soon.

  9. Zoanna says:

    I didn’t realize you were a Company Girl, Kelly. Funny how we connect in different places in blogland.
    So sorry to hear about your dad’s health. That would tempt me to be “undone” and fall on my face crying out to God. I love my daddy so much.

    Bet you can’t wait for this day (I’m writing on the 15th of April) to be over!

    • Kelly C says:

      Thanks all! There isn’t any news on dad yet. See this weeks post. Zoanna, I let the cat out of the bag on our Project Simplify continuation. Hope you don’t mind.

Leave a Reply

