Think-Back Tuesday with Zoanna

Over at A Penchant for Pens, Zoanna started Think-Back Tuesday.

Her questions are designed to get us to share memories.  Today the topic is water, which makes me wish I had finished writing my blog post to explain why the title of my blog is Through the Water.   But I haven’t so that’s that.

Not asked but I’ll share anyway, that I love water.  I sometimes wish I lived near water.

Of the 9 pictures on just this wall in the living room 5 of them are of water.

The picture over the fireplace is a lighthouse scene with water.

I like water.

1. First of all, how do you pronounce the word “water”?

I probably say wah – der or wah – ter about half and half.

2. Do you like to drink water, and if so, do you take it with or without ice, and do you put anything in it? Do you drink water from the tap? From your fridge? Do you filter it or drink only bottled water? If you don’t like to drink water, what’s your go-to thirst quencher?
We drink mostly water at our house cold from the fridge.   I still prefer ice with mine and in a glass.  It is filtered from the fridge, but I can drink water from the tap when needed.  I’ve lived in some places where the water didn’t taste that good and got used to it long before there were filters.

I bought a stainless steel thermoses for all of us a few years ago after hearing all about bad plastic.  I got it here and bought two so I would get free shipping, but I’ve seen them at most every grocery store I’ve been in.   I use this 18 oz. size and Brian uses the 22 oz. size.  k uses this one.  I hope I can find another in the right size range for her before she gets too old for Toy Story.  She carries this every day to school in her lunch box.

3. Do you like to swim, or are you afraid of the water? How about swimming in the ocean, a lake or pond? Can you dive and do you like other water sports?

I do like to swim.  I remember swimming lessons at the Y just like it was yesterday.   I remember struggling during lessons to get the crawl and breathing down right, but on the day of the test I got in a rhythm and felt like a pro.  Of course the next time I went swimming I couldn’t do it very well.

Although I grew up in New Mexico, we spent the summer before my second grade year in Oregon for my dad to go to school.  We lived in some apartments that had a pool.  I learned to hold my breath under water long enough to swim from one end of the pool to the other.  It seemed like a football field long, but I’m sure now it couldn’t have been.  At that point I still wasn’t good at the on top of the water swimming.

That summer reminds me of the reason why I got my first stitches.  A few days before we were to drive back to New Mexico, I thought I would be cool and I jumped off the side of the pool and tried to turn around in mid-air and then fall into the pool.  Well, I did jump and turn around, but I came straight down with my chin on the side of the pool.  It only required 3 stitches, but it messed up my trip home because I couldn’t get it wet and therefore no motel swimming on the way home for me.  Bummer!

I finally got pretty good at swimming when I worked at the swimming pool during my summer vacation from college.  I started out as the cashier, but after swimming laps day in and day out I got strong enough to become a lifeguard.  I worked that job for two summers.

My favorite part of that was teaching lessons.  I loved when the little tykes would jump off the diving board into the deep in and swim to me

I have been swimming in rivers, lakes, and oceans.  My favorite was the Rio Frio in Hill Country Texas.   My friend, Laurie, practically grew up on the Rio during the summer.  A few years when we were in high school I went with her.   Later when k was 7 months old we spent a week there.  She loved it.

I can dive but most pools aren’t deep enough now.

Doesn’t this just make you want to dive in.  We have this picture blown up to 20 x 30 in our office. I want to dive through the wall every time I look at it.

Photo by Junanne Mosley

Sabine River

4. When you were a kid, how did you cool off in the summer with water? Were you blessed to have a pool in your yard or nearby? Did you have to pay to go swimming at a municipal pool? Or were you relegated to running through the sprinkler? Did you take swimming lessons?

We went to the city pool occasionally, but mostly we played in the water sprinkler.  A few years we got to have a slip-n-slide.  They always worked better on commercials than in real life, but were usually good for a fun day anyway.  After trying to make the sliding work, we usually just filled up the slide with water and lay in it.

k loves water too!

5. Are you a bath person or a shower person?

Shower usually, but I enjoy a good long soak sometimes.

If you want to participate hop on over to A Penchant for Pens to post your water blog.

1 Blessed is the one
who does not walk in step with the wicked
or stand in the way that sinners take
or sit in the company of mockers,
2 but whose delight is in the law of the LORD,
and who meditates on his law day and night.
3 That person is like a tree planted by streams of water,
which yields its fruit in season
and whose leaf does not wither—
whatever they do prospers. (Psalm 1:1-3, New International Version, ©2011)

This entry was posted in Fun and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Think-Back Tuesday with Zoanna

  1. Zoanna says:

    Hey, thanks for joining in. I guess this topic of water really DOES “float your boat”! 🙂
    Ouch about the chin dive. SO not cool. And you’re so right about the slip-n-slide being better in the commercials than real life! And I love, love, LOVE that 20×30 picture. I can absolutely see why you feel live diving right through the wall!

Leave a Reply

