Somewhere in the middle

Lest you think I’m perfect…

Anyway…this is not a food blog so I know you don’t come here for glamorous photos of food and wonderful explanations of recipes.  I thought I would show you my unsuccessful batch of English muffins from yesterday.

I have previously posted a picture of a very successful and photogenic batch of English muffins.

Now aside the fact these from yesterday were square, they had other problems.  The dough was supposed to be closer in consistency to a batter that you drop by spoon onto the grill.  This dough was roll out heavy.  So obviously I didn’t measure either the flour or the liquid right.

I decided therefore to roll them out and cook them up anyway.  I hate to throw out that much in flour, milk,  and butter ingredients.  I also hoped since they had a lot of butter and milk they might taste okay.

They did taste okay.  They will be fine warmed up with butter and honey.  k ate 4 of them that afternoon as snacks.

Of course I had made a double batch, so I think I have about 60-80 of these things.  I popped most of them in the freezer.  k will probably eat the rest for breakfast with her protein shake and after school snacks.

I don’t always make English muffins that look picture perfect nor do I always mess up royally.  Usually, my cooking falls somewhere in the middle.

You know most of life is that way. Some days I do great and some days I mess up a lot.   I am glad that in all seasons my Lord forgives me when I fall and cheers for me when I step out in faith.  He carries me I can’t get up.  He chastises me when I think too highly of myself.

25 To the faithful you show yourself faithful,
to the blameless you show yourself blameless,
26 to the pure you show yourself pure,
but to the devious you show yourself shrewd.
27 You save the humble
but bring low those whose eyes are haughty.
28 You, LORD, keep my lamp burning;
my God turns my darkness into light.
29 With your help I can advance against a troop;
with my God I can scale a wall. (Psalm 18:25-29, New International Version, ©2011)

This entry was posted in Encouragement, Recipes/Food. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

