Its raining, its pouring

Hurricane Hermine has delivered a deluge.  Its interesting the variety of FB comments I have seen just today.

“Rain, rain, go away.  I love the rain.  I hate the rain.  We need to build an ark.  Can I borrow a boat to pick up the kids from school?”  And the list goes on.

The same event evokes a multitude of responses.    You do realize we actually need the rain.  I’m reserving a special place on this blog for a list of as many water related facts as I can find, but you know the important ones.  Rain makes the crops grow.  Our bodies are made mostly of water and we need to drink lots of it to function properly.  Also, on the other hand, I realize water can be a very powerful, dangerous force of nature.   Therefore, it can be a real cause for concern if your schedule requires you to be out in the rain or your home and livelihood is in danger.

But for most of us, our reactions are purely habitual.  We throw out a negative comment because it is familiar.  It is common.  It takes less energy than going against the grain of negativity around us and in us.

I don’t know if this is a direct quote from someone or just a common saying, but “you can choose to be happy.”  The decision is mine each day whether I will find some joy and contentment in the world around me.  The choice is mine to deliver encouragement to those around me or despair.    My hope is to bring you encouragement.

“Therefore encourage one another and build each other up.”  I Thes. 5:11 NIV

How will you choose to encourage someone today?

This entry was posted in Encouragement and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Its raining, its pouring

  1. Pinky says:

    Hi Kelly,

    Jst stumbled on ur blog through some response link………..& jst word of encouragement, hang on there & people will notice you……….I also have a plan of having my own food blog but have not started one coz there are so many out there & i wonder whether any body will be interested in mine…………..but maybe most of the starters have the same problem…..all the best…..

    Pinky 🙂

    • Kelly C says:

      Thank you for your kind words. I think you are right. You have to do a blog because you enjoy it. If others do too, then that brings in the extra fun of the possibility of comments and exchange of ideas. Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

