Busy ≠ Important

The days and weeks go by so quickly.

I made a conscious decision to not blog during work hours as that is really not cool and reeks of no integrity.  So the result has been no blogging.  I have little to no interest in getting on a computer when I get home at the end of the day but I have greatly missed the Coffee Girls conversations.

Here is a bit of what I’ve been up to since my last post in December.

  • lovely Christmas break that included a visit to my sister in Florida.  I made her a chocolate cake with pink mint chocolate chip frosting for her birthday.  She said it might have been the only time she can remember someone making her a birthday cake.  I would guess my mom did when we were younger, but then again, with her birthday being 2 days after Christmas you never know.  The cake was pretty.
  • organized a welcome back to school lunch – taco bar for the teachers – they loved it.
  • began working overtime for tax season including Saturdays – don’t love working longer hours, but love the time and a half paychecks.
  • Just 2 weeks ago we decided we would all go as a family on a mission this summer to Hungary.   BC has been several times but we decided to all go so I’ve been busy with passports and fundraising for this.  More to come on this topic I’m sure.

A few weeks ago one of the points in our sermon was this:

Busy does not equal important.

It really hit me between the eyes, stepped on my toes, and all that.

So I’ve been trying to be less busy and be more deliberate in what I do.  I say this all the time.  It takes a while to wean yourself from all the things you think you have to do.   I have noticed a huge difference in my stress level between last year at this time and this year.   I haven’t been as preoccupied with what I think I should be doing to the detriment of who am I with and how can I be enjoying the moment.   I don’t have as many outside of the home responsibilities to be involved with this tax season.    I have been better at planning meals and not relying on last minute take out as I have many springs in the past.

I think perhaps some of my blogging (maybe all of it) is just a way to feel important because I’m telling how busy I am and all the things I do.   Am I boasting in busy-ness when I should be doing some other good I know about?

13 Now listen, you who say, “Today or tomorrow we will go to this or that city, spend a year there, carry on business and make money.” 14 Why, you do not even know what will happen tomorrow. What is your life? You are a mist that appears for a little while and then vanishes. 15 Instead, you ought to say, “If it is the Lord’s will, we will live and do this or that.” 16 As it is, you boast in your arrogant schemes. All such boasting is evil. 17 If anyone, then, knows the good they ought to do and doesn’t do it, it is sin for them.”  James 4:12-17

Have a great weekend.  Link back to Company Girls.

This entry was posted in Encouragement, Faith, Family. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Busy ≠ Important

  1. Sheila says:

    I am still learning about the difference between trying to be busy and accomplishing what is important. Usually at the end of the day, I feel so tired and yet feel like I haven’t accomplished anything of eternal value. God is keeping me in check day by day.

    • Kelly C says:

      Sheila, I know what you mean about not feeling like you accomplished anything of eternal value. I guess we can only take it one day at a time and try to do better today than we did the day before.
      Thanks for stopping by.
      Kelly

  2. Karen G says:

    My birthday cake WAS beautiful and very tasty! I’m sure Mom made me a cake at some point in my life but I don’t remember it. I wasn’t very fond of cake back then and preferred pie. Mom usually made me a cherry pie for my birthday!

  3. joyceandnorm says:

    I know what you’re talking about. I think a lot of people are stuck in that mindset, but really busy = stressed out for me. I’ve learned to celebrate those days that I can just be refreshed and enjoy the people and things around me. It’s not always easy, because I’m sure there’s something I can find to do, but I think we are better (less frustrated) people when we aren’t shuffling from one thing to another. Thanks for the thought-provoking post. Enjoy the rest of your weekend.

  4. Great thoughts… thanks so much for sharing. Hope your week is wonderful!

Leave a Reply

