Cupcakes in a Cup

You have seen mini cupcakes.

And standard size cupcakes.

And cupcakes with glass in them…

And cupcakes in a jar…

But have you seen cupcakes in a cup?

Due to district policy k’s school can’t serve the birthday cupcakes until the end of the day so I decided to make cupcakes to go.   I have been making cupcakes in a jar as seen here at Jessica’s The Novice Chef for the teachers’ birthdays but decided I didn’t want to waste jars on 5th graders.  I found this idea on Pinterest from Anna at Cookie Madness to package the cupcakes in a plastic 9 oz. party cup.   This would make it easy for the teacher to pass them out right when they are leaving at the end of the day and nobody would have to worry about messing up their cupcake on the way home.

Because it is a scientific fact kids prefer the frosting to the cupcake, this method also gives them a healthy dose of buttercream frosting in addition to being transport friendly.    Did I use the word healthy and cupcakes in the same sentence?

k picked mint chocolate chip cake for both her cake and cupcakes this year.  My inspiration for this cake came from Steph of Raspberri Cupcakes.  Isn’t her cake amazing?  I doubt my mint chocolate Lego cake will be magazine cover worthy as is hers.

However, I used my favorite buttercream frosting and added 1/2 tsp of peppermint flavor instead of 2-3 tsps of peppermint essence.  I don’t even know if they are two different things.  I also omitted the chocolate pieces for the cupcakes because I’m saving them for the cake and figured k’s class wouldn’t know the difference.

I originally made a double batch of the recipe below.  Double would normally be enough for a batch of 24 cupcakes with plenty for swirly, fancy cream on top.  However, it did not make enough for 30 cupcakes and the middle layer.  I ended up having to make another batch to finish.  If you want to make a double batch of frosting work put a thinner layer between the cupcake layers and not as high a swirl on top.

Buttercream recipe – for 12 cupcakes with lots of swirls.   Simplified directions.

  • 2 stick unsalted butter – room temperature unless its August in Texas and then you might have to stand in your refrigerator to make it.  Mix until smooth.
  • 1/2 tsp peppermint flavor, adjust to taste  (usually I use 1 tsp vanilla here).
  • 1 lb confectioners sugar (about 4 cups or 16 oz.) sifted.  Added alternately with cream
  • 2 Tbl of heavy cream (can use milk, but I like the cream).  Added 1/2 tsp at a time until you get the desired stiffness.

For my cupcakes I used my version of Ina Garten’s Clyde Beatty’s Chocolate cake.  Because I make several substitutions I finally wrote up my version here.

I sliced the cupcakes in half.  Added a layer of buttercream.  Put the next layer of cupcake and finished just like a regular cupcake.  As you can see there was plenty of room for the frosting in the cup.

Isn’t it exciting the ribbon that has been hiding out in my ribbon box for years matched perfectly?

She is growing up so fast.  She is 11 now.  Some days she show definite signs of pre-teen and some days she is still a little girl.   Love her, love her.   I am blessed to be her mother.  Thank you God for this wonderful gift.

Last year:  The Cake Pop Kid

This entry was posted in Family, Fun, Recipes/Food and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cupcakes in a Cup

  1. Pingback: Mint Chocolate Chip Lego Cake | Through the Water

Leave a Reply

