I Can Can

This past weekend when I got to choose what to do and could tell everyone to leave me alone since it was Mother’s Day, I finally gave canning a try.

I know…not everyone’s idea of a fun-filled afternoon, but play time is scarce and since this wasn’t essential although hopefully profitable it was play time.

I’ve been slowly picking up supplies and spices and cans here and there so as not to break the bank.  I wanted to be ready to go when summer crops hit their prime and prices dropped a little.

I chose a basic corn relish recipe that came in the Ball Home Canning Discovery Kit.   I got this kit because it wasn’t too expensive and it had some basic recipes to do small batches of 3 jars at a time.

One of the first things I learned while reading up on canning is you don’t experiment with the recipes.  They have been tried and testing to ensure food safety so you don’t mess with success.  So I hesitated starting a project to make 50 pounds of something when I didn’t even know what I was doing.  I didn’t want to waste perfectly good food so 3 jars at a time seemed like a good way to learn.

I really didn’t even know if I liked corn relish, but the picture in the book was colorful and since it only made 3 jars and corn was at a decent price I decided to give it a try.

Just like everything else there is a learning curve.  It took most of my afternoon.  I had some mishaps.  I wish I had just used frozen corn to practice on since getting the corn ready took a while.

One of my jars was only half full.  I guess I needed to pack the corn tightly when measuring and maybe I cooked it too long and too much moisture cooked out.   Not completely sure about this.

Because that jar was only half full, it floated in the canner and I was worried it might mess up the other jars.

My processing pot wasn’t deep enough.  It looked plenty deep ahead of time, but a lot of my water boiled out and the jars didn’t stay under water the entire time.

One lid out of the 3 didn’t seal.  I guess I didn’t get it dry enough on top before placing the lid on to process.

Overall, I was happy with the results.  I put the half empty jar and the no-seal jar in the fridge.  I’m not sure if I should put the 3rd in there now too since the jars didn’t stay submerged.  Anyone out there know?

I’ll have to ask Marissa McClellan at Food in Jars.  I’ve been following her blog and getting encouragement to take this first step.

Don’t judge my photos against hers.  My new camera is taking awful photos.   I want my old one back and might see if I can find one on Ebay.

I do like corn relish.  Thank goodness since I have 2 1/2 jars of it left over :)

What are you storing up?

14 The wise store up knowledge,
but the mouth of a fool invites ruin. (Proverbs 10:14, New International Version)

Hello! Company Girls!  Here is a link back to the Link page.

Edited 5/13 to add:  I just found out my father’s surgery is scheduled for June 3 to remove a cancerous kidney.  Please keep him in your prayers.

This entry was posted in Household, Recipes/Food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I Can Can

  1. joyceandnorm says:

    That’s great, even with the mishaps. I’m glad you found the 3-jar kit. Will lift up your father in prayer. Have a nice weekend.

  2. Jan says:

    Prayed for complete physical healing for your dad. LOVE the 3-jar idea for canning; I might get inspired to go take canning lessons from my sweet mom-in-law.

Leave a Reply

